Kanke, Ranchi, Jharkhand

( A State Government University )

Under-Graduate Programmes

Admission to different undergraduate programmes is done through bifold procedure. 15% of total seats are filled by a Combined Competitive Entrance Examination conducted by I.C.A.R. V.C.I. at all India level and 85% of the total seats are filled by Jharkhand Combined Competitive Entrance Examination Board, Ranchi. The minimum qualification is Intermediate/10+2 or its equivalent with Physics, Chemistry and Biology for all undergraduate degree programmes. However, the candidates with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics are also eligible for admission into B.Sc. (Ag) and B.Sc. (Forestry).Students are admitted in unreserved and various reserved categories strictly on the basis of merit in the respective category through an entrance examination as per the reservation rules of Jharkhand state.

Semester system of education is followed in the University. Each semester consists of approximately 115 working days. The residential requirements for the award of Bachelor’s degree is eight semesters including Rural work Experience in B.Sc.(Ag.) and B.Sc.(Forestry), during the last semester. The residential requirements of B.V.Sc. & A.H. Course is of 10 Semesters. The last Semester consists of 6 month compulsory internship programme.

College of Agriculture

The college of Agriculture offers a four-year course leading to the B.Sc.(Ag.) degree. The programmes of the college are carried through a network of fourteen Departments viz. Agril. Economics, Agril. Engineering, Agricultural Physics and Meteorology, Agril. Statistics & Computer Application, Agronomy, Crop Physiology, English, Agril. Entomology, Agril Extension Education, Horticulture, Plant Breeding and Genetics, Plant Pathology, Soil Science and Agril. Chemistry and Home Science. Disciplines which are related to Basic Sciences and are essential for better understanding of agricultural sunjects are attached to relevant disciplines. Courses on Agril. Business Management are also offered. Diploma in Food Processing & Certificate Courses in Home Science are also offered.

College of Veterinary Sciences and Animal Husbandry

The College of Veterinary Sciences and Animal Husbandry offers 5-years B.V.Sc. (degree) programme through a network of 17 departments namely Animal Breeding and Genetics, Animal Nutrition, Animal Reproduction, Gynaecology and Obstetrics, Live Stock Production & Management, Veterinary Anatomy & A.H. Extension Education, Veterinary Biochemistry, Veterinary Microbiology, Veterinary Parasitology, Veterinary Pathology, Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicology, Veterinary Physiology, Veterinary Public Health, Veterinary Surgery and Radiology, Veterinary Medicine and Aquaculture. Courses on Forage Crops Pisciculture and Apiculture are also offered to undergraduate students along with other production courses. Diploma in Aquaculture and Certificate Courses in Aquaculture are also offered.

College of Forestry

The College of Forestry offers four-years degree course leading B.Sc.(Hons.) Forestry degree. The faculty has five departments in the College, namely Silviculture & Agroforestry, Forest Biology & Tree Improvement, Forest Products Utilization, Natural Resource Management and Basic Science & Humanities. The Basic Science subjects are taught by the teachers of the Agricultural College of this University.